Movers and Shakers

Florida A&M University Harold Mills will replace Cleve Warren on FAMU’s Board of Governors. Mills is the CEO of workforce management firm ZeroChaos.

Florida State University Erin O’Hara O’Connor has been named dean of FSU’s College of Law. O’Conner comes from Vanderbilt, where she was a professor and administrator. O’Conner earned her law degree from Georgetown.

University of Central Florida The UCF Board of Trustees renewed President John Hitt’s contract for another year. Hitt has served as the University’s president for 25 years.

Foundation for Excellence in Education Former Governor Jeb Bush will once again serve as chairman and president of the Foundation for Excellence in Education. Bush created the Foundation in 2007 and stepped down as its leader in 2015 to run for President of the United States. Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, who will remain on the board of directors, served as its chair and president in the interim.

Florida Civil Rights Hall of Fame Three honorees were inducted posthumously to the Florida Civil Rights Hall of Fame on May 11th. The Florida Civil Rights Hall of Fame was created in 2010 and now includes 15 members.

  • Earl Johnson (1928-1988), an attorney and the first African-American member of the Jacksonville Bar Association. Johnson represented many civil rights activists, including the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
  • Rutledge Pearson (1929-1967), an American history teacher, civil rights leader and human rights activist and the former president of the Florida State Conference of the NAACP.
  • Jesse McCrary (1937-2007), an attorney who served as the first African American to serve as Secretary of State in 1978 by then-Governor Reubin Askew. As a student at Florida A&M University, McCrary organized sit-ins against racial discrimination in Tallahassee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *