Movers & Shakers

Bernie Machen will be retiring in December, after serving 10 years as President of the University of Florida. He previously delayed his December 2013 retirement at the request of Governor Scott and the board of trustees. An 18-member search committee comprised of faculty, board members, scientists, alumni and students has been named.

Florida Polytechnic University selected Dr. Randy Avent,  Associate Vice Chancellor of Research Development at North Carolina State University, to be their first president. Florida Polytechnic is planning to open this August in Lakeland, two years after being created by the Legislature and signed into law by Governor Scott. They are expecting 500 students to enroll the first year.

The Gulf Coast State College District Board of Trustees met on May 8th and chose Dr. John R. Holdnak to be their next president. Dr. Holdnak currently serves as the Executive Vice President of the Florida College System. He previously worked for GCSC from 1982 to 2008 in various positions, including the Vice President/Dean of Administrative Services.

Mike Carroll became the next Interim Secretary of the Department of Children and Families on May 5th, replacing Esther Jacobo. Jacobo filled in as Interim Secretary last July after the abrupt resignation of David Wilkins. It is expected that Carroll, a 24-year veteran of DCF, will serve through November’s election.

We would like to thank the following term-limited Representatives for their service to our State: Speaker Will Weatherford (R-Wesley Chapel), Marti Coley (R-Mariana), Joe Gibbons (D-Pembroke Park), Eddy Gonzalez (D-Hialeah Gardens),  Doug Holder (R-Sarasota),  Ed Hooper (R-Clearwater), Seth McKeel (R-Lakeland), Bryan Nelson (R-Apopka), Jimmy Patronis (R-Panama City), Betty Reed (D-Tampa), Robert Schenck (R-Spring Hill),  Elaine Schwartz (D-Hollywood), Perry Thurston, (D-Ft. Lauderdale) Jim Waldman (D-Coconut Creek) and to Dan Davis (R-Jacksonville) who will not seek reelection this fall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *