Movers and Shakers

County Health Systems Appointed is Paul Myers as Deputy Secretary for the Department of Health’s County Health Systems, replacing retiring Kim Barnhill.

Fish & Wildlife Foundation of Florida Former House Speaker Steve Crisafulli (R-Merritt Island) will serve a three-year term on the board of the Florida Fish & Wildlife Foundation of Florida.

Florida Park Service Lisa Edgar is director of the Florida Park Service for the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.

Florida Office of State Courts Administrator Paul Flemming is public information officer.

House Minority Office Alexa Chappell is the staff director for the House Minority office.

Republican Lieutenant Governors Association Florida Lieutenant Governor Carlos Lopez-Cantera is now co-chair for policy of the Association.

Republican Party of Florida Representative Blaise Ingoglia (R-Spring Hill) won a second, two-year term as chair of the RPOF.

Florida Democratic Party Meanwhile, over at the FLDEMS, Stephen Bittel took over chairmanship from Allison Tant, and executive director Scott Arceneaux has resigned. Juan Penalosa and Reggie Cardozo have been hired as transition advisers to Chairman Bittel as they launch a nationwide search to replace Arceneaux.

Innovation Florida Former state Senator Maria Lorts Sachs (D-Delray Beach) will serve as executive director of the new not-for-profit incubator for startup technology companies.

Enterprise Florida Nathan Edwards is director of communications.

Law Enforcement Hall of Fame Five individuals were inducted to the Law Enforcement Hall of Fame by the Florida Cabinet on January 24th. They were: James “Tim” Moore, who headed the Florida Department of Law Enforcement for 15 years; Chief Richard M. Beary of the University of Central Florida Police; Chief William B. Berger, former chief of the North Miami Beach Police; Sheriff Neil J. Perry, former St. Johns County Sheriff; and J. M. “Buddy” Phillips, a former Suwannee County sheriff who also served 14 years as executive director of the Florida Sheriffs Association. The Hall of Fame was created by state lawmakers in 2014 and members are honored with plaques on a wall in the first-floor plaza of the Capitol.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *