Movers and Shakers

Governor Rick Scott appointments:

Board of Medicine  Appointed are Dr. Magdalena Averhoff, Miami, chief medical officer of Jackson South Community Hospital; Dr. Steven Rosenberg, West Palm Beach, dermatologist for Palm Beach Dermatology, Inc.; and Dr. Hector Vila, Tampa, a founding partner and vice president of Pediatric Dental Anesthesiology Associates.

Broward County Court Appointed is Jennifer W. Hilal to the Broward County Court. Hilal has been an assistant state attorney for the 17th Judicial Circuit since 2008.

Enterprise Florida Appointed to the Board of Directors are Sonya Deen Hartley, Fort Lauderdale, vice president with JM Family Enterprises, and Ambassador John Rood, Jacksonville, chairman of the Vestcor Companies, Inc. Reappointed is Belinda Keiser, Parkland, vice chancellor of Keiser University.

Florida Department of Elder Affairs Appointed is Jeffrey Bragg as Secretary of the Department of Elder Affairs. Bragg previously served as the Executive Director of the Terrorism Risk Insurance Program at the U.S. Department of Treasury. He replaces Sam Verghese, who left to pursue opportunities in the private sector.

Florida Public Service Commission Appointed is Donald Polmann, Dunedin, a consultant in civil and environmental engineering and formerly worked for Tampa Bay Water. He replaces longtime Commissioner Lisa Edgar. His appointment is subject to approval by the Senate.

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Appointed to the District Board of Trustees is Rod Thomson, Sarasota, president and owner of The Thomson Group.

Supreme Court Judicial Nominating Board Reappointed are Daniel Nordby, Tallahassee, formerly the general counsel for the Florida House of Representatives and currently a partner in the Shutts and Bowen law firm; Nilda R. Pedrosa, Pinecrest, deputy chief of staff to Attorney General Pam Bondi; and Israel Umberto Reyes, Coral Gables, managing partner and president of The Reyes Law Firm, previously a Miami-Dade circuit judge from 2003-11 and county judge from 2002-03.

South Florida Water Management District Reappointed is Daniel O’Keefe, Windermere, an attorney with Shutts and Bowan LLP. He previously served on both the Wekiva River System Advisory Management Committee and the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council. Appointed is Federico Fernandez, Coral Gables, an attorney with DiFalco and Fernandez LLP and a Bacardi Family Foundation board member.

Southwest Florida Water Management Appointed are Bryan Beswick, Arcadia, a grove manager with Premier Citrus Management LLC; and Mark Taylor, Brooksville, president of TTG Properties Inc. Reappointed is Michelle Williamson, Dover, a manager at G & F Farms and the district chair of the Florida Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee.

Tampa-Hillsborough County Expressway Authority Appointed is Bennett Barrow, Tampa, vice president of Barrow Asset Management.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *