Movers and Shakers

Department of Health Surgeon General John Armstrong was not confirmed by the Senate this session and therefore is out of a job. The Senate was required to confirm his gubernatorial appointment by the end of session. Armstrong, first appointed in 2012, will be the first agency head to not be confirmed in 21 years. Dr. Celeste Philip has been named acting Surgeon General. Dr. Philip has been with the Department of Health since 2008.

Public Service Commission Keith Hetrick, Tallahassee, has been named general counsel of the PSC. Hetrick previously worked for Broad and Cassell and replaces Charlie Beck who retired in December 2015.

The Associated Press of Florida Ian Mader has been named news editor for the Associated Press of Florida, based in Miami.

Appointed by Governor Rick Scott:

University of Central Florida Board of Trustees Appointed are Kenneth Bradley, Winter Park, chief executive officer of Winter Park Memorial Hospital; and David Walsh, Winter Springs, president and chief executive officer of Mitsubishi Power Systems.

Florida International University Board of Trustees Reappointed is Dr. Jose Armas, Miami, founder and chief executive officer of the MCCI Group.

Hillsborough County Aviation Authority Appointed is Retired Air Force Brigadier Arthur F. “Chip” Diehl III, Tampa, managing director of Diehl Associates and vice president of the Tampa Bay Defense Alliance.

North Central Florida Regional Planning Council Reappointed are Lorene J. Thomas, Old Town, retired real estate broker;  William H. Hunter, White Springs, North Florida Community College human resources director; and T. Daniel Webb, Lake Butler, managing attorney with Vernis & Bowling P.A.

The Senate confirmed the following appointments:

Secretary Liz Dudek, Agency for Health Care Administration

Director Barbara Palmer, Agency for Persons with Disabilities

Secretary Ken Lawson, Department of Business and Professional Regulation

Secretary Mike Carroll, Department of Children and Families

Secretary Julie Jones, Department of Corrections

Secretary Sam Verghese, Department of Elder Affairs

Secretary Christina Daly, Department of Juvenile Justice

Secretary Chad Poppell, Department of Management Services

Commissioner Rick Swearingen, Department of Law Enforcement

Secretary Ken Detzner, Department of State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *