From the Capitol

Now that all 160 members have been sworn into office during the Organizational Session on November 22nd, the Florida Legislature is ready to conduct business.  Both Senate President Joe Negron (R-Palm City) and House Speaker Richard Corcoran (R-Lutz) have announced their leadership teams. They include the following:


Anitere Flores(R-Miami), President Pro Tempore

Wilton Simpson (R-New Port Richey), Majority Leader

Lizbeth Benacquisto (R-Fort Myers), Rules Committee Chair

Jack Latvala (R-Clearwater), Appropriations Committee Chair

Senator Oscar Braynon II (D-Miami) will serve as the Minority Leader and Senator Lauren Book (D-Fort Lauderdale) will be the Minority Leader Pro Tempore.

President Negron also named committee chairs and members, which can be found here.


Jeanette Nuñez (R-Miami), Speaker Pro Tempore

Ray Rodrigues (R-Estero), Majority Leader

Jose Oliva (R-Miami), Rules and Policy Committee Chair

Carlos Trujillo (R-Miami), Appropriations Committee Chair

Representative Janet Cruz (D-Tampa) will serve as the Democratic Leader and Representative Bobby B. DuBose (D-Fort Lauderdale) as the Democratic Leader Pro Tempore.

Speaker Corcoran named the chairs and members of the full committees, which can be found here. Members participated in “Legislature University” during the week of December 5th as part of their education and training for the upcoming session.

Additionally, the interim committee meetings have been scheduled for the weeks of December 12th (Senate only), January 9th, January 23rd, February 6th, February 13th and February 20th.  The 2017 Session begins on March 7th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *