Movers and Shakers

Appointments by Governor Scott:

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY Cissy Proctor has been named Executive Director of DEO. She has been at DEO since 2013, serving as the Chief of Staff since 2015. She replaces Jesse Panuccio, who resigned on December 4th. Also at the DEO, Morgan L. McCord will serve as the agency’s press secretary. McCord was previously the Director of Communications at Florida TaxWatch

FLORIDA LOTTERY Tom Delacenserie has been named Secretary of the Florida Lottery. He has served as interim secretary since August of this year when Cynthia O’Connell stepped down.

JOHNS COUNTY CLERK OF COURTS Hunter Conrad, St. Augustine, has been appointed the St. John’s County Clerk of Courts. Conrad is an attorney at Canan Law and previously worked as an assistant state attorney in the Seventh Judicial Circuit.

FLORIDA BOARD OF EDUCATION Tom Grady, a Naples Republican, former one-term state representative and interim president of Citizens Property Insurance.

FLORIDA PREPAID COLLEGE BOARD Adria Starkey, Naples, Collier County president of FineMark National Bank and Trust; and James “Jim” Rasmussen, Tallahassee, past chairman, president, and chief executive officer of SunTrust Bank of South Florida.

CHIPOLA COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD  Andrew Fleener, Chipley, owner of Fleener Cleaner Inc.; Joel Paul Jr., Holmes, executive director of Tri County Community Council Inc.;  Darrin Wall, Chipley, office manager with Gulf Power Company and member of the Washington County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors; and Thomas “Tommy” Lassmann, Marianna, a commercial banker with Peoples South Bank.

GULF COAST STATE COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES Thomas Lewis, Lynn Haven, owner of Tom Lewis Agency; and reappointed James McKnight, Wewahitchka, assistant hospital administrator of Florida State Hospital.

LAKE-SUMTER COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES Jennifer Hill, Leesburg, previously served on the Lake County Board of County Commissioners from 2000 to 2012 and member of the Lake-Sumter State College Foundation Board; and Peter Wahl, The Villages, District 33 aide for the Florida House of Representatives.

NORTH FLORIDA COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES  Jon Coker, Perry, president of J. Travis Coker Consulting; and Alton Williams, Jr., Live Oak, sheriff of Suwannee County; reappointed are Ann “Sharon” Benoit, Orlando, former international director for the Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission; and Lloyd “Gary” Wright, Monticello, former president and CEO of Farmers and Merchant’s Bank.

SEMINOLE STATE COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD Jonathan Alex Setzer, Orlando, partner at Southern Strategy Group; and Scott Howat, Orlando, executive director of the School District of Orange County.

STATE EMERGENCY RESPONSE COMMISSION Barry “Dale” Calhoun, Crawfordville, executive vice president of the Florida Propane Gas Association and the executive director of the Florida Natural Gas Association; Richard Delp, Gulf Breeze, an environmental engineer and project manager with Baskerville Donovan Inc, and the chairman of the District One Local Emergency Planning Committee; and John Johnson, Quincy, director of the office emergency response for the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.

FLORIDA COMMISSION ON COMMUNITY SERVICE (VOLUNTEER FLORIDA)  Ashton Hayward, Pensacola, mayor of Pensacola; Genean McKinnon, Winter Park, president of McKinnon Associates Inc.;  Cynthia “Cindy” O’Connell, Tallahassee, former secretary of the Florida Department of Lottery;  James Croteau, Tallahassee, interim chief executive officer of American Second Harvest of the Big Bend; Autumn Karlinsky, Weston, a volunteer and fundraiser with Imagine Charter School; Natalia Martinez, Pembroke Pines,  previous chief innovation and technology officer for Roots of Hope; and Kerry Schultz, Gulf Breeze, an attorney with Fountain, Schultz and Associates.

WEKIVA RIVER BASIN COMMISSION Jody Lee, of Palatka, an environmental manager with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Bryan Nelson, Apopka, president of Nelson Insurance Services and a member of the Orange County Commission; Jeffrey Prather, Orlando, a director with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection; Ann Shortelle, Gainesville, executive director of the St. Johns River Water Management District; and Leslie “Shannon” Wright, Lake Panasoffkee, the northeast regional director for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

 EARLY LEARNING COALITIONS Robert Bell, owner of RM Bell Services LLC and a commissioner for the North River Fire District to the Early Learning Coalition of Manatee County; Lourdes Mola, founder and president of Lourdes Mola Solutions, to the Early Learning Coalition of Orange County; and Luke Buzard, audit services director at TECO, to the Early Learning Coalition of Hillsborough County.

 JACKSONVILLE TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY Lillie “Denise” Wallace, founder and president of BCM Services, and member of the Duval County Value Adjustment Board; Scott McCaleb, president of Vulcan Lands Incorporated, and a member of the University of North Florida Foundation Board and the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce board of directors.

JACKSONVILLE AVIATION AUTHORITY Teresa Davlantes, executive director of the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization; and Frank Mackesy as the director of public safety and chief of police at the University of North Florida.

TAMPA HILLSBOROUGH EXPRESSWAY AUTHORITY Daniel Alvarez, Seffner, managing member of The Alvarez Legal Group and an adjunct professor at the University of Tampa; and Rebecca Smith, Tampa, president and owner of The AD Morgan Corporation and the founder and president of WoofGang Solutions.

DRUG POLICY ADVISORY COUNCIL Senator Eleanor Sobel (D-Hollywood) has been appointed by Senate President Andy Gardiner to the statewide Drug Policy Advisory Council. Mark Fontaine, Tallahassee, executive director for the Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association and Kimberly Spense, Panama City, chief executive officer of Nonsecure Programs Inc. and Keeton Corrections Inc., have been reappointed by Governor Scott to the Council.  Tim Parson will serve as the Council’s executive staff director of the Council. He previously was the legislative affairs director at the Department of Children and Families.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *