Movers and Shakers

Governor Rick Scott recently appointed Michael D. Crews as Secretary of the Florida Department of Corrections. Crews has nearly 30 years of experience in the corrections and law enforcement arena and most recently served as deputy secretary of the Florida Department of Corrections. Crews will fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former Secretary Ken Tucker. Tucker is the new Law Enforcement Coordination Specialist for the U.S. Attorney’s Office, Northern District.

Governor Scott also recently named five new members to the State University System’s Board of Governors. They are: Wayne Huizenga Jr. of Delray Beach, a marine industry executive; Ned Lautenbach, a Naples investor and former 30-year IBM executive; Alan Levine, a Naples health care executive and former hospital official; Wendy Sartory Link, a West Palm Beach attorney; and, Edward Morton, a Naples health care executive. The Board of Governors sets policy for the university system.

House Majority Leader Steve Precourt (R-Orlando) and House Majority Whip Dana Young (R-Tampa) appointed Representatives Travis Cummings (R-Orange Park), Mary Lynn Magar (R-Tequesta), Dan Raulerson (R-Plant City), and David Santiago (R-Deltona) as the House Majority Deputy Whips for the 2012-2014 term.

Representatives Lori Berman (D-Delray Beach), Reggie Fullwood (D-Jacksonville), Jose Rodriguez (D-Miami), Hazelle Rogers (D-Lauderhill) and Joe Saunders (D-Orlando) have been appointed House Democratic Deputy Whips for the 2012-2014 term by House Democratic Leader Perry Thurston (D-Plantation) and House Democratic Whip Alan Williams (D-Tallahassee). Representative Darryl Rouson (D-St. Petersburg) has been elected by the House Democratic Caucus as Democratic Leader for the 2014-2016 term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *