Movers and Shakers

Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy Mark Kaplan, vice president of public affairs at Mosaic, is chairman of the board; John Engler, the former three-term governor of Michigan and the former president of Business Roundtable, is vice chair; and Chris Frangione, vice president of prize development and execution for XPRIZE, has joined the board.

Bethune-Cookman University President Edison O. Jackson has retired, having served as president since 2013. A search for his replacement is underway.

Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis’ new chief of staff will be Ryan West, who was his former chief adviser at the Florida Public Service Commission. West replaces Robert “Budd” Kneip, who retired at the end of August. West also served as an adviser for Public Service Commission member Ronald Brise, as a policy chief for the state House Economic Development and Tourism Subcommittee and as a lobbyist for the Florida Chamber of Commerce.

Citizens Property Insurance Corporation Appointed by CFO Patronis was John M. McKay to the Citizens Property Insurance Board of Governors. McKay, a former State Senator and Senate President from 2000-2002, is president of The Riverside Real Estate Company.  Appointed by Senate President Joe Negron was Blake Capps, Hobe Sound, owner of Capps Roofing, Inc.

Corporation for National and Community Service Chester Spellman was appointed by the White House to serve as the director of AmeriCorps for the Corporation for National and Community Service. Spellman had served as the chief executive officer of Volunteer Florida since his appointment by Governor Scott in April 2012.

Enterprise Florida Pete Antonacci has been named president and CEO of Enterprise Florida. He most recently worked as executive director of the South Florida Water Management District.

Enterprise Florida Board of Directors Appointed by Senate President Joe Negron was Ken Kahn, Palm Beach Gardens, president of LRP Publications, a legal and professional publishing company. He also serves on the Palm Beach County Education Commission and the Alliance for Eating Disorder Awareness.

Florida Bar Citizens Advisory Committee Five new members are: Ash Benzo, Fort Lauderdale, treasurer for the City of Fort Lauderdale; Maggie McGowan Davis, Pensacola, a Licensed Clinical Social Worker; William “Bill” Law, St. Petersburg, former president of St. Petersburg College;  Steven R. Maxwell, Sanibel, president/owner of Maxwell’s Sanibel Lime-elo, Inc.; and Lorene Wilson, Tallahassee, retired.

Florida Bar Foundation The new president is Jewel White, Clearwater, chief assistant county attorney with the Pinellas County Attorney’s Office.

Florida Chamber of Commerce Joshua Gabel has been named director of grassroots development and engagement for the Chamber. Gable was previously with Florida TaxWatch.

Florida Department of Health Jeffrey P. Brosco was appointed deputy secretary for Children’s Medical Services and he will oversee the Division of Children’s Medical Services, the Office of the CMS Managed Care Plan and Specialty Programs, and CMS area offices.

Florida House District 72 Representative Alexandra “Alex” Miller (R-Sarasota) announced her resignation on August 24th, effective September 1st. Republican James Buchanan has announced his desire to run for the seat and the special primary election has been scheduled by Governor Scott for December 5th. The general election will be held during the legislative session on February 13th.

Florida Lottery Appointed general counsel was David Guerrieri, who was previously a senior attorney for the Department of Economic Opportunity. Appointed deputy chief of staff and legislative affairs director was Samantha Ferrin who served previously as external affairs manager for the Department of Management Service.

Florida Medical Association Officers selected at their 2017 annual meeting in Orlando were: John N. Katopodis, a Tallahassee cardiologist, as its 141st president; President-Elect Corey Howard, M.D.; Vice President Ronald Giffler, M.D.; Secretary Michael Patete, M.D.; Treasurer Jason Goldman, M.D.; Speaker Joshua Lenchus, D.O.; and Vice Speaker Ashley Booth Norse, M.D.

Florida Public Service Committee Nominating Council Appointed by Senate President Joe Negron (R-Stuart) was Senator Bobby Powell (D-West Palm Beach) the 12-member nominating council is appointed by the Legislature — six by the Senate president and six by the House speaker. All of the members are listed here.

Florida State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Appointed to the Board of Governors were Jonathan Kilman, Orlando, lobbyist and partner with Foley & Lardner; and Cesar Fernandez, Miami, Uber’s Miami-based senior public policy associate. Fernandez was political director on Governor Charlie Crist’s 2014 gubernatorial campaign and managed the political campaigns of incoming Senate Democratic Leader Jeff Clemens and St. Petersburg Mayor Rick Kriseman.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *