Movers and Shakers

The Florida Senate confirmed the following state agency heads during this legislative session:

Jeffrey Bragg, Secretary of the Department of Elderly Affairs

Dr. Celeste Philip, Surgeon General and Secretary of the Department of Health

Justin Senior, Secretary of the Agency for Health Care Administration

Glenn Sutphin, Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs

Corrine Brown Former U.S. Rep. Corrine Brown was found guilty in her fraud and tax evasion trial on May 11th in federal court in Jacksonville.

Florida Democratic Party Sally Boynton Brown was named president. She most recently served as national president of the Association of State Democratic Executive Directors.

Governor Scott appointments:

Board of Control for Southern Regional Education Karin Hoffman, Lighthouse Point, vice president of Sonshine Educational Tours.

Board of Medicine Reappointed was Dr. Sarvam TerKonda, Jacksonville, plastic surgeon at Mayo Clinic Florida. Appointed were Dr. Stephanie Haridopolos, Melbourne, a practicing family physician; and Dr. Robert London, Maitland, an anesthesiologist and a partner at US Anesthesiologist Partners.

Florida Citrus Commission Reappointed was Francisco Pines, Miami, co-owner of Pines Ranch, Inc. and a managing partner at Francisco J. Pines, P.A.

Florida Commission on Human Relations Appointed was Donna Elam, Wellington, president and chief executive officer for Elam Leadership Institute.

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission Appointed was Mike Sole, Tequesta, vice president of environmental services for NextEra Energy. Sole previously served as Secretary of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.

Judges of Compensation Claims  Appointed were Robert Alan Arthur, Brandon, a state mediator for the Lakeland District and state mediator for the St. Petersburg district; and Carol Stephenson, Boynton Beach, field legal counsel for Liberty Mutual at the Law Offices of James C. Norris.

Judicial Nominating Committee Six reappointments and six appointments were made to the Judicial Nominating Committee on May 9th. Here is the list.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *