Movers and Shakers

Governor DeSantis Appointments:

Agency for Healthcare Administration Tom Wallace has been chosen to be the next Florida Medicaid director. Wallace replaces Beth Kidder who left for a position at Health Management Associates. Wallace previously served as a deputy secretary at AHCA.

Board of Nursing Eight were appointed to the Board of Nursing. You may view the appointments here.

Board of Professional Engineers Eight were appointed to the Board of Professional Engineers. You may view the appointments here.

Central Florida Expressway Authority Governing Board Appointed were Rafael “Ralph” Martinez, Orlando, managing partner of McEwan, Martinez, Dukes & Hall, P.A.; and Christopher “C.J.” Maier, Orlando, director of fiber development at NextEra Energy.

Citizens Property Insurance Corporation Board of Governors Appointed were Jillian Hasner, Boca Raton, president and CEO of Take Stock in Children; Erin Knight, Coral Gables, president of Monument Capital Management; and Nelson Telemaco, Coral Springs, CEO of Proximity Works.

Department of Environmental Protection Noah Valentine has resigned as secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection, effective June 4th. interim secretary is Shawn Hamilton, the department’s deputy secretary for land and recreation.

Department of Veteran’s Affairs Appointed Veteran’s Affairs Director was retired Marine Corps Major General James S. “Mammer” Hartsell. He has served as deputy executive director of the agency in April 2019.

Enterprise Florida Board of Directors Appointed were Sonya Deen Hartley, Tallahassee, vice president of government relations for JM Family Enterprises; Scott Ross, Tallahassee, partner at Capital City Consulting and former deputy secretary of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation; and Cody Khan, Panama City, chair and CEO of Oasis Resorts, vice chair of Hilton Inc., and president and CEO of Holiday Golf Course.

Florida A&M University Board of Trustees Appointed was David Lawrence Jr., Coral Gables, chair of The Children’s Movement of Florida.