Movers and Shakers

Ramon Alexander The Florida House Democrats have chosen Representative Ramon Alexander (D-Tallahassee) as their next leader. He will lead the Caucus in the 2023 and 2024 legislative sessions. He is replacing Ben Diamond (D-St. Petersburg) who will be running in 2022 to replace Democratic Congressman Charlie Crist.

Loranne Ausley Senator Loranne Ausley (D-Tallahassee) has been named co-chair of the NewDEAL Forum’s Broadband Task Force, along with Michigan Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist and Sam Liccardo Mayor of San Jose, California. Their job is to identify barriers limiting access and affordability of high-speed internet.

Florida Trucking Association Named president and CEO was Alix Miller. Miller, who will take over on August 1st, currently serves as the association’s senior vice president and runs their communications and legislative affairs.

Richard McCullough The Florida Board of Governors approved Dr. Richard McCullough as the 16th president of Florida State University. Selected to replace John Thrasher, McCullough was given a 5-year employment contract beginning August 16th. McCullough is currently vice provost at Harvard University.

NASA Administrator Bill Nelson has announced senior staff: Shahra Anderson Lambert, senior advisor for engagement; Bale Dalton, deputy chief of staff; Bryan Glley, media relations specialist; and Justin Weiss deputy press secretary.

Carlos Trujillo Former State Representative and President Trump’s Ambassador to the Organization of American States Carlos Trujillo has launched a nonprofit organization, Democracy Now, which focuses on the upcoming political redistricting.

Will Weatherford Former House Speaker Will Weatherford (R-Wesley Chapel) was named chair of the University of South Florida Board of Trustees. Mike Griffin, a market leader for Savills in Tampa, will serve as vice chair.