Movers and Shakers

Julie Brown Florida Public Service Commissioner Julie Brown was appointed to the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ Natural Gas Partnership with the U.S. Department of Energy.

Lisa Vickers Appointed deputy executive director of the Florida Department of Revenue was Lisa Vickers. Vickers was former Senate President Bill Galvano‘s chief of staff. She previously served as deputy executive director at DOR under former executive director Dr. Jim Zingale.

Miami Dade College Madeline Pumariega, a former chancellor of the Florida College System, was named president of Miami Dade College. She is the school’s fifth president and first female leader. 

Rick Scott Florida’s U.S. Senator Rick Scott has been selected as the next chair of the National Republican Senatorial Committee.

St. Johns River Water Management District The St. Johns River Water Management District’s Governing Board re-elected General Douglas Burnett, St. Augustine, to serve as its chair for a second year. Also elected were former Senator Rob Bradley, Fleming Island, vice chair; Susan Dolan, Sanford, secretary; and Ron Howse, Cocoa, treasurer. 

University of Florida The University of Florida College of Medicine has appointed Colleen Koch as its new dean of the school. She is the first woman to hold the position in the 64-year history of the program. Koch currently serves as a professor and chair of the department of anesthesiology and critical care medicine at Johns Hopkins.

Woman of the Year in Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried and the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services selected Veronique Sallin, co-founder of IMG Enterprise, as the 2020 Woman of the Year in Agriculture. IMG is a family-owned company specializing in agriculture and land management that was established in 1979. Throughout her career, Sallin has been involved with community organizations to help make an impact locally, and has established herself as a leader in the field in both the United States and France. In 2012, French President Nicolas Sarkozy awarded Sallin the National Order of Merit for her personal and professional work in Florida to highlight French culture and heritage.