From the Capitol

The 2018 Election Cycle is bound to be intriguing and dramatic this summer and fall. Elections will be held for all four of Florida’s Cabinet offices (Governor, Chief Financial Officer, Attorney General and Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services), all 120 of the seats in the House of Representatives and half of the Senate seats.

Candidates running for local and state offices in Florida were required to qualify by petition or fee by June 22nd. Congratulations to the following candidates who won election (two new members) or re-election without opposition:

  • Senator Audrey Gibson (D-Jacksonville)
  • Senator Lauren Book (D-Plantation)
  • Representative Ramon Alexander (D-Tallahassee)
  • Representative Loranne Ausley (D-Tallahassee)
  • Representative Halsey Beshears (R-Monticello)
  • Representative Kamia Brown (D-Ocoee)
  • Joseph Casello (D-Boynton Beach)
  • Representative John Cortes (D-Kissimmee)
  • Representative Travis Cummings (R-Orange Park)
  • Representative Tracie Davis (D-Jacksonville)
  • Representative Ben Diamond (D-St. Petersburg)
  • Representative Brad Drake (D-DeFuniak Springs)
  • Representative Bobby DuBose (D-Fort Lauderdale
  • Representative Joe Geller (D-Dania Beach)
  • Representative Michael Grant (R-Port Charlotte)
  • Representative Al Jacquet (D-West Palm Beach)
  • Representative Evan Jenne (D-Hollywood)
  • Representative Shevrin Jones (D-West Park)
  • Representative Sam Killebrew (R-Hinter Haven)
  • Representative Kionne McGhee (D-Cutler Bay)
  • Speaker of the House Jose Oliva (R-Hialeah)
  • Anika Omphroy (D-Lauderdale Lakes)
  • Representative Sharon Pritchett (D-Miami Gardens)
  • Representative Emily Slosberg (D-Delray Beach)
  • Representative Richard Stark (D-Weston)
  • Representative Barbara Watson (D-Miami Gardens)
  • Representative Clovis Watson (D-Gainesville)

The primary election is just a few weeks away on August 28th when many more races will be decided by voters. We will keep you informed with a special edition of those results after the elections.