Movers and Shakers

Citizens Property Insurance Appointed to the Board by Senate President Bill Galvano (R-Bradenton) was Carlos Beruff, a real estate developer from Bradenton. Beruff replaces Blake Capps. Resigning from the board was Jose Felix Diaz, a former Republican member of the Florida House of Representatives who was appointed by Jose Oliva in July 2020.

David Yates Named the 2020 Film Florida Legends Tourism Ambassador was David Yates, the former executive director and CEO of the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. Created in 2006, the award is presented by entertainment production association Film Florida. Previous recipients include Burt Reynolds, Sharon Gless, Emilio and Gloria Estefan and Vanilla Ice.

Florida Education Association FEA president Fedrick Ingram was elected secretary-treasurer of the American Federation of Teachers. As a result, vice president Andrew Sparwill serve as president until a 2021 union election, and secretary-treasurer Carole Gauronskas will be vice president.

Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame The Florida Cabinet voted unanimously to induct 20 veterans into the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame. For more information go here.

Indian River State College Chosen by the board of trustees as its next president was Dr. Timothy Moore. Dr. Moore was the chief science officer at MagPlasma and co-founder and chief science officer at Probaxstra Inc. He replaces Dr. Edwin Massey who retired at the end of August.